Our network

Events

Dog Ears to Host Returning Author Kali Quinn

Dog Ears to Host Returning Author Kali Quinn

Western New York native Kali Quinn will return to Buffalo this weekend for a reading and book-signing event from 1 to 3 p.m. Sunday, May 22, at Dog Ears Bookstore & Café, 688 Abbott Road, Buffalo.

Part memoir, part curriculum, part field guide, her book “I Am Compassionate Creativity” explores the integral relationship between compassion and creativity, especially within moments of uncertainty and when moving through deep grief. Quinn’s research stems from years of performing solo theater, teaching within universities across the country, and growing up in Buffalo.

“I didn’t want to publish a book and just put it online and in bookstores,” explains Quinn. “I wanted to reconnect with family and friends in-person and deliver my book to them in their homes. I wanted to take these stories on tour and create a movement.”

Buffalo Bites Food Tours Attract Hungry Tourists Who Crave an Authentic Experience

Buffalo Bites Food Tours Attract Hungry Tourists Who Crave an Authentic Experience

What sets Buffalo and Western New York apart from other regions as a fun and unique travel destination? According to a recent online survey of “America’s Favorite Cities,” which ranked Buffalo at the very top of its travel list, categories such as architecture, craft breweries and public parks are hugely important to today’s trendy travelers. Restaurants and food also rank high atop the wish list of these road warriors.

Author Jeff Schober to Launch Latest Crime Novel at Popular Event

Author Jeff Schober to Launch Latest Crime Novel at Popular Event

Hamburg author Jeff Schober will host a book launch for “Faces and Fingertips,” his new crime novel, from 5 to 8 p.m. on June 7 at Larkinville, 745 Seneca St., Buffalo, as part of Food Truck Tuesday.

Published by No Frills Buffalo, “Faces and Fingertips” is the third book in a crime series set in Buffalo during the 1980s. The two prior books were “Broken and Profane” (2011) and “Boneshaker” (2013).

“Faces and Fingertips” continues the story of former Buffalo detective Ken Connell as he recovers from a shooting. R.J. Sorrentino, a sketch artist who is Connell’s friend, makes a grisly discovery and approaches Connell for help.  

“My crime novels have been called fierce and compelling,” Schober said. “Faces and Fingertips will appeal to readers who like Michael Connelly or John Sandford.”

South Buffalo Alive’s Annual Parade of Circles Set for June 5

South Buffalo Alive’s Annual Parade of Circles Set for June 5

The Parade of Circles, an annual event celebrating beautification projects along McKinley Parkway in South Buffalo, will take place at 2:30 p.m. Sunday, June 5. The event is presented by South Buffalo Alive, a nonprofit community organization dedicated to improving the quality of life in South Buffalo through ongoing preservation and beautification efforts.

Established in June 2001, the parade runs from Dorrance Circle to Heacock Park and is followed by a picnic in the park with plenty of activities for the kids. The parade will feature music and dancing as well as community groups that help make the neighborhood a special place in which to live.

Rick Smith of Rigidized Metals Corp. will serve as the parade’s grand marshall. The event will also honor the New York State champion South Park High School football team.

Author of Buffalo-based Crime Novel to Visit Dog Ears Bookstore

Author of Buffalo-based Crime Novel to Visit Dog Ears Bookstore

Mark Hannon, author of “Every Man for Himself,” a crime novel about racketeering set in Buffalo during the early 1950s, will take part in a book-signing event from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, June 25, at Dog Ears Bookstore & Café, 688 Abbott Road, Buffalo.

Dog Ears Bookstore to Host Author Sinéad Tyrone

Dog Ears Bookstore to Host Author Sinéad Tyrone

Author Sinéad Tyrone will sign copies of her latest novel, “Crossing The Lough Between,” from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, June 4, at Dog Ears Bookstore & Café, 688 Abbott Road, Buffalo.  

“Crossing The Lough Between,” the sequel to “Walking Through The Mist,” continues the story of Aidan O'Connell and his Macready’s Bridge bandmates as they face new challenges and adventures. Set against a rich Ireland backdrop, “Crossing The Lough Between” is a heartwarming story with memorable characters you won't want to leave behind.

For more information, please call Dog Ears Bookstore at 823-2665 or visit their website at http://dogearsbookstore.org/. You can also follow Dog Ears Bookstore on Facebook for frequent updates.

Seminar, Camps Fill Upcoming Heritage Village Calendar

Seminar, Camps Fill Upcoming Heritage Village Calendar

A Lace Seminar, School of the Soldier Civil War Camp and Pioneer Day Camp are among the major events planned at Buffalo Niagara Heritage Village in June and July. Heritage Village is located at 3755 Tonawanda Creek Road in Amherst.

The 28th annual Heritage Village Lace Seminar will take place from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. June 4 and 5. Well-known teachers from the International Organization of Lace, Inc. will be presenting classes in bobbin lace, tatting and lace net darning. All skill levels are welcome. The event also includes vendors with supplies for lacemaking and other needlework, plus a lecture on the lace villages of England. Please visit Heritage Village’s website for more information.